The ISTQB Certified Tester: Foundation Level course introduces the delegates to the principles and challenges of software testing. It is required in order to progress to the Advanced level ISTQB certifications.

Previous Page
  • 10 January
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 10 Jan 09:30 - Mon 10 Jan 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 11 Jan 09:30 - Tue 11 Jan 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 12 Jan 09:30 - Wed 12 Jan 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 13 Jan 09:30 - Thu 13 Jan 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register8 places remaining
  • 7 February
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 07 Feb 09:30 - Mon 07 Feb 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 08 Feb 09:30 - Tue 08 Feb 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 09 Feb 09:30 - Wed 09 Feb 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 10 Feb 09:30 - Thu 10 Feb 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register9 places remaining
  • 14 March
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 14 Mar 09:30 - Mon 14 Mar 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 15 Mar 09:30 - Tue 15 Mar 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 16 Mar 09:30 - Wed 16 Mar 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 17 Mar 09:30 - Thu 17 Mar 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 11 April
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 11 Apr 09:30 - Mon 11 Apr 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 12 Apr 09:30 - Tue 12 Apr 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 13 Apr 09:30 - Wed 13 Apr 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 14 Apr 09:30 - Thu 14 Apr 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 9 May
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 09 May 09:30 - Mon 09 May 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 10 May 09:30 - Tue 10 May 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 11 May 09:30 - Wed 11 May 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 12 May 09:30 - Thu 12 May 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 13 June
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 13 Jun 09:30 - Mon 13 Jun 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 14 Jun 09:30 - Tue 14 Jun 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 15 Jun 09:30 - Wed 15 Jun 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 16 Jun 09:30 - Thu 16 Jun 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 4 July
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 04 Jul 09:30 - Mon 04 Jul 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 05 Jul 09:30 - Tue 05 Jul 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 06 Jul 09:30 - Wed 06 Jul 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 07 Jul 09:30 - Thu 07 Jul 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 22 August
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 22 Aug 09:30 - Mon 22 Aug 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 23 Aug 09:30 - Tue 23 Aug 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 24 Aug 09:30 - Wed 24 Aug 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 25 Aug 09:30 - Thu 25 Aug 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 12 September
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 12 Sep 09:30 - Mon 12 Sep 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 13 Sep 09:30 - Tue 13 Sep 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 14 Sep 09:30 - Wed 14 Sep 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 15 Sep 09:30 - Thu 15 Sep 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 3 October
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 03 Oct 09:30 - Mon 03 Oct 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 04 Oct 09:30 - Tue 04 Oct 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 05 Oct 09:30 - Wed 05 Oct 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 06 Oct 09:30 - Thu 06 Oct 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 24 October
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 24 Oct 09:30 - Mon 24 Oct 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 25 Oct 09:30 - Tue 25 Oct 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 26 Oct 09:30 - Wed 26 Oct 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 27 Oct 09:30 - Thu 27 Oct 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 14 November
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 14 Nov 09:30 - Mon 14 Nov 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 15 Nov 09:30 - Tue 15 Nov 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 16 Nov 09:30 - Wed 16 Nov 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 17 Nov 09:30 - Thu 17 Nov 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
  • 5 December
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 05 Dec 09:30 - Mon 05 Dec 17:00
    Online
    Session 2
    Tue 06 Dec 09:30 - Tue 06 Dec 17:00
    Online
    Session 3
    Wed 07 Dec 09:30 - Wed 07 Dec 17:00
    Online
    Session 4
    Thu 08 Dec 09:30 - Thu 08 Dec 13:00
    Online
    Online
    • €1,100.00 excl. VAT
    Register12 places remaining
None of these dates work for you? Suggest another date & time
  • From €1,100.00
    3.5 days LIVE Online
    The ISTQB Certified Tester: Foundation Level course introduces the delegates to the principles and challenges of software testing. It is required in order to progress to the Advanced level ISTQB certifications.
Description

This course will only be run as a face to face in-class event when it is confirmed safe to do so.

 Expleo Academy’s ISTQB Certified Tester: Foundation Level (CTFL) course provides the knowledge required to engage in testing roles.

The training is delivered by accredited trainers with testing experience. Attendees will learn industry terminology, concepts, and test techniques for use in the test process. Attendees are supplied with notes that address the objectives required by the International Software Quality Testing Board in the 2018 CTFL syllabus. To prepare attendees for the certification exam there are end-of-Module review question, end-of-day homework questions, and an end-of-course mock exam. The event includes the CTFL exam on the third day.

Course Objectives

On completion of ISTQB Certified Tester Foundation Level, attendees will be able to:

  • Promote efficient and effective communication by using a common vocabulary for software testing
  • Demonstrate understanding of fundamental software testing concepts and optimising test practices
  • Use established techniques for designing tests at all test levels, and interpreting tests from test specifications
  • Report on test results, including defect reports
  • Understand test management principles, and project factors, for resources, strategies, and planning
  • Understand the value that software testing brings to stakeholders, and contribute effectively in reviews
  • Assist in the selection and implementation process of testing tools
Course Outline

Fundamentals of Testing

  • What is testing?
  • Why is testing necessary?
  • Seven Testing Principles
  • Test Process
  • The psychology of testing

Testing throughout the Software Development Lifecycle

  • Software Development Lifecycle Models
  • Test Levels
  • Test Types
  • Maintenance Testing

Static Testing

  • Static Testing Basics
  • Review Process

Test Techniques

  • Categories of Test Techniques
  • Black-box Test Techniques
  • White-box Test Techniques
  • Experienced-based Test Techniques

Test management

  • Test Organisation
  • Test Planning and Estimation
  • Test Monitoring and Control
  • Configuration Management
  • Risk and Testing
  • Defect Management

Tools support for Testing

  • Test tool considerations
  • Effective use of tools

Exam

  • Mock examination
  • Formal ISTQB examination – while the course is delivered LIVE online rather than in-class,  this exam will be run separately as an online e-proctored exam
Prerequisites

The ISTQB® Certified Tester Foundation Level course is appropriate for everyone involved in, or interested in, software testing.  There is no necessary pre-reading to be completed.

Related Certifications

The ISTQB has a supporting series of courses to take the tester further in their career:

  • ISTQB® Certified Tester Foundation Level Extension: Agile Tester
  • ISTQB® Certified Tester Advanced Level Test Analyst
  • ISTQB® Certified Tester Advanced Level Test Manager
  • ISTQB® Certified Tester Advanced Level Technical Test Analyst
  • ICAgile Certified Agile Fundamentals
Who should attend?

This course is most relevant to anyone interested in career learning paths for roles such as Test Programme Managers, Test Managers, Test Analysts, Test Engineers, Requirements Engineers, Software Developers, Functional Testers, Agile Testers, User Acceptance Testers, Test Automation Specialists, Performance Test Specialists, Test Environments Specialists, Security Testing Specialists, and Test Consultants. The course is also appropriate for anyone who wants a basic understanding of software testing, such as Project Managers, Quality Managers, Software Development Managers, Business Analysts, IT Directors, and Management Consultants.